[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]

You may have heard your digital agency discussing EDMs, PPC campaigns, CTAs & meta descriptions. Digital marketing terminology can be one of the greatest barriers to the industry for small business owners and marketing novices. What do these terms actually mean? We want to explain to you the 20 most common digital marketing phrases and what their definitions to get you all caught up!

 

Landing page

Generally on a website, this is a specific destination created for potential customers to visit. Here they can view the information you want them to see about your business, engage with your CTA, leave their contact details or buy a product.

 

SERP – Search engine results

SERP stands for ‘Search Engine Results Page. This is the list of websites a search engine will show when somebody enters a search term, although the pages may also contain other results such as advertisements.

 

SEM – Search engine marketing

Search engine marketing (SEM) is related to SEO in that they both deal with digital marketing outreach on search engines like Google and Bing. However, SEO typically refers to internal, organic website optimisation while search engine marketing is commonly known as advertising through a paid media budget.

 

SEO – Search engine optimisation

This is the marketing product term used all the time to describe the act of getting your website found in search engine results more easily. The higher on the results page (SERP) your website appears for the desired Keywords/phrases, the more effective your SEO. More accurately though, it’s the process of getting traffic from the free or organic search results on search engines.

 

Keyword

Keywords refer to the relevant words people use to find your business’s website. For example, if you own a cake shop, your keyword could be ‘butterfly cakes’ or ‘birthday cake’. These are used to ensure your target audience can find you using search engines.

 

Domain authority

Domain Authority score is not a new phrase in the world of SEO, but there are many people who are unaware of domain authority and its significance. Domain authority is one of the main factors that define how well your website will rank in search engines. Websites rank on a scale of 1-100, (100 being the best and 1 being the worst). So the higher the domain authority of a website, the higher its ranking in search engines.

 

META description

The meta description is a snippet of up to about 155 characters – a tag in HTML – which summarises a page’s content. Search engines show the meta description in search results mostly when the searched-for phrase is within the description, so optimising the meta description is crucial for on-page SEO.

 

PPC – Pay per click

This is a model of internet marketing in which advertisers pay a fee each time one of their ads is clicked on in on a SERP. Essentially, it’s a way of buying visits to your site, rather than attempting to “earn” those visits organically. Search engine advertising is one of the most popular forms of PPC. An example of this is Google Adwords.

 

Organic traffic

This is the volume of visitors you receive from your audiences without paying for an advert. This could be direct website visits from customers specifically typing in your website URL, from SERP’s from your SEO efforts.

 

Paid traffic

This is the opposite of organic traffic. It is when you pay for traffic via a Facebook ad, Google Adwords or a Yell listing.

 

CTA – Call to action

This is the desired action you would like your potential customer to take. For example, having a learn more button on your Facebook ad which directs the traffic to the homepage of your website. Or, a call now section on your Google business account thereby, directing traffic to call straight away. Alternatively a ‘Book now’ link could be included on your website.

 

CTR – Click through rate

This is the percentage of traffic that takes the journey you set out on the advertising campaign. For instance, if you set ad on Facebook or on Google Adwords to drive your targeted demographic to a specific landing page. Say you have 1000 people interact with that ad and 250 clicks through to the landing page as desired. Your click through rate is 25% This can be an effective way of seeing if your ads are working correctly so you can adapt if needed.

 

CPA – Cost per acquisition

This one is really important when marketing your products and services, and can change dependant on the marketing campaign. At its simplest, this is the total cost of getting that product or service sold. For example, if you release a new product & invest £500 into marketing that product on a Facebook ads then sell 156 in the first month. Your CPA is £500 divided by 156 which equals £3.20. This will form an integral number in understanding the cost to acquire a customer by different marketing campaigns.

 

CPC – Cost per click

This refers back to PPC. However, it is the actual cost for each click on an ad. This can be set out before making the ad live. You can even set a budget.

 

CPM – Cost per thousand

If you are wanting to know the cost to engage, feature in front of, sell to for a larger number. This will give you that value for every 1000. This is great for planning big campaigns or product sales. CPM is definitely a favourite form of selling ads by publishers because they get paid regardless just by displaying those ads. Carrying out a CPM model only makes sense if you are trying to increase brand awareness generally.

 

Conversion

Conversion is used to describe the final action of purchasing or becoming a buyer of your product/service. This is generally quantified as a percentage. For example, if you receive 1000 visits to your online shop each week and of that 100 visitors purchase a item, the conversion ratio is 10%.

 

EDM – Electronic Direct Mail

A common term for describing a marketing email sent directly to your potential customers. It is the process of building an essential email database and sending them communications or special offers directly. A majorly used platform to do this is Mailchimp.

 

Subscriber

This is a person or business who allows you to send them EDM & marketing messages. These are very important to your business because they define as an engaged entity who welcome your brands advertising and what it stands for.

 

Social networking

Social networking is the activity that a huge amount of people do to connect with new people, grow their business and create brand awareness. It’s done via social media platforms such as LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter & Instagram. This practice is based around making connections over long periods of time and creating engagement.

 

Impressions

This is the description of how many times your ad, product, website or post is viewed in someone’s social media timeline. For example, 1 visitor could view 5 different social media posts you’ve published, which would create 5 impressions.

 

So there you go folks! An overview of the most commonly known and used terms in the marketing world. As Co-director of Ame Social, I’m still getting to grips with them all too! It’s a good job I’m never the smartest in the room during our team meetings. My team are always trying to catch me out with a new terms every single day!

 

Ame Social is a passionate and driven marketing agency, that is focused on helping businesses to get the exposure they deserve through online marketing. If you need a hand or aren’t sure where to start, we are here to help![/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Categories: